Kawai CA78 Digital Piano, Premium Rosewood

  • Video 1

This product is currently unavailable for delivery to your country

  • Onkyo Collaborative Design for an Improved Sound
  • Grand Feel II Keyboard with Hammer Action
  • Bluetooth Connectivity to Record & Learn with Apps
  • User Friendly LCD Touchscreen
  • Dual Sound Engines with Resonance Modelling

Kawai CA78 Digital Piano, Premium Rosewood


The Kawai CA78 Digital Piano has been collaboratively designed with audio company Onkyo, resulting in a high performance and upgraded sound quality. The CA78's SK-EX sound generator has multi-channel sampling that produces a warm, dynamic tone. The Grand Feel II system has wooden keys and weighted hammers that allow the nuances in your playing to shine through. Bluetooth connectivity allows audio to be streamed through the piano's speakers to accompany your playing. The Kawai CA78 benefits from a 5-inch touchscreen to quickly navigate between features. The 6-speaker system has been tuned to produce loud, clear volume without distortion.

Product Ref: 100518

View Full Description

Full Description

View Full Description

Bluetooth Connectivity

The Bluetooth connectivity of the CA78 expands functionality for modern users. The audio function allows you to wirelessly connect your iOS or Android smart device to stream audio directly through the piano’s speakers. This is ideal for playing along to your favourite music, listening to lessons or for use as a hi-fi system. The Bluetooth MIDI connection allows you to record compositions directly to your device in a high quality format. The Kawai CA78’s Bluetooth function is popular with students wanting to learn independently.

Onkyo Collaboration

Kawai’s collaboration with audio company Onkyo means the CA78’s features an impressive tonal depth. The 1-bit DSP processing makes you piano’s tone more versatile, whilst improving power efficiency for decreased distortion. The CA 78 benefits from Onkyo’s premium dual DACs, which have a stereo sound effect and respond with precision to your playing style. The power amplifiers are designed to capably handle any level of sound, as well as being energy efficient for reduced background noise. Onkyo and Kawai’s collaboration results in an authentic, natural piano sound.

SK-EX Sound Engine

The CA78’s sound engine produces a faithful replication of acoustic piano tones. The sound engine uses the flagship SK-EX acoustic piano as its sample base. The overall note is tuned from multiple samples within different sections of the piano for more authentic tone. Each key benefits from calculated resonance modelling which adds textures to your sound such as key dampness, cabinet sound and reverb. The CA78’s two sound engines and range of piano voices cover enough tones to suit all preferences.

Easy to Use Interface

Musicians can instantly navigate between the CA78’s features using the 5 inch screen that's touch sensitive and colour lit for ease of use. The CA78’s on-board ‘Pianist’ function allows quick editing of the piano voices. The CA78’s ‘Favourite’ setting allows you to instantly recall your frequently used settings.


Established in 1927, Kawai is now one of the largest music manufacturers in the world. Kawai focuses only on creating high quality acoustic and digital pianos and have produced some of the most famous concert grand pianos in the world, such as the Shigeru Kawai EX and Shigeru Kawai SK-5. In creating their range of digital pianos, Kawai make use of this expertise to replicate as closely as possible the experience of playing an acoustic grand piano. Kawai pioneered the use of wooden key components in digital pianos and continue to innovate for an ever more authentic piano playing experience.



  • Keys: 88
  • Key Tops: Ivory/Ebony Surfaces
  • Pivot Mechanism: Seesaw Pivot
  • Key Material: Wood
  • Feel: Triple Sensor System with Counterweights

Sounds & Effects

  • Sound Source: Harmonic Imaging XL
  • Pianist Sound Engine: SK-EX Rendering
  • Pianist Sampling: Multi-Channel
  • Sound Sampling: Stereo
  • Number of Voices: 10 Pianist, 12 Sound
  • Virtual Technician: 20 Parameters

Sound Processing

  • Processing Size: 1-bit
  • DAC: Premium Dual DACs
  • Filtering: Onkyo DIDRC
  • Power Amp: Onkyo x3
  • Headphone Amp: Onkya Discrete Spectra Module


  • Power: 100W
  • Bluetooth: MIDI and Audio
  • Screen Type: LCD Touchscreen
  • Screen Size: 5’’
  • Screen Resolution: 480 x 800
  • Colour: Premium Rosewood
  • Speaker System
    • Woofer: 12cm x 2
    • Mid Rang: (12cm x 8cm) x 2
    • Tweeter: 1.9cm x 2for you.


Standard Courier Delivery

When you add this product to your shopping basket, you will be provided with our standard courier delivery option. This will deliver the piano to the ground floor of your house or building. Please note that if there is not a ground floor entrance we may not be able to deliver there. You may also need to help the delivery driver as this product comes packaged in large boxes.

This may not be suitable if you are unable to help the driver if required, or if you need the piano delivering upstairs. Please consider whether this is the most appropriate delivery service for you, as other delivery options are available at an additional cost.

Delivery and Installation Service

This service can be arranged on an ad-hoc basis via a specialist piano delivery company. Delivery times cannot be guaranteed until we have made arrangements with the delivery company. If you would prefer a delivery and installation service, please contact our sales team on 0330 365 4444 who will be happy to set up a quotation for you and provide you with more information on this service.

Your order may contain items that use a 240V UK plug
Any electrical items in your order may have been designed to work with a 240V circuit, using a United Kingdom G type plug connection. An adapter or transformer may be required for these items to work properly and safely in your country. Some items work with a range of voltages, or have a switchable voltage control built in. Please refer to the specific product details for further information.